On June 2nd, Sleep Party People releases their first album on Joyful Noise, titled ‘Lingering’. Written, recorded, produced, and performed by Brian Batz, the new album develops beyond the band’s more overtly post-rock efforts. With ‘Lingering’, Batz has found a voice as a unique songwriter, and has captured a singular warmth within his densely layered, futuristically choreographed instrumentation.

Sleep Party People is actually the brainchild of Batz, a Danish multi-instrumentalist with a boundless imagination. The one-man home recording project took shape in 2008 when Batz began experimenting with an old battered piano in his apartment. Coupled with a strange electronic alteration of his recorded voice, he created eerie, hypnotic sounds and haunting melodies forming the basis of Sleep Party People’s self-titled debut album (2010).

With the release of 2012’s ‘We Were Drifting On A Sad Song’ and 2014’s ‘Floating’, Sleep Party People began touring as a five-piece band, gaining the attention of fans worldwide. Without the support of a U.S. label, the band was able to harness a groundswell of attention from far reaches of the globe. Throughout Asia, Eastern Europe, South America, and even parts of the Middle East it’s not unusual for SPP shows to draw thousands of spectators.


Side A

  1. Figures
  2. LISTEN TO: The Missing Steps 
  3. LISTEN TO: Fainting Spell 
  4. Salix And His Soil
  5. Lingering Eyes
  6. Dissensions (feat. Luster)


Side B

  1. Limitations
  2. The Sound Of His Daughter
  3. LISTEN TO: The Sun Will Open Its Core 
  4. We Are There Together (feat. Beth Hirsch)
  5. Odd Forms
  6. Vivid Dream